Home :: College Information :: Marketing/Communications ::

SCC Hosts Annual Stanly Heritage Endowed Scholarship Banquet

Heritage Students(November 7, 2013) The Stanly Community College (SCC) Foundation hosted its annual Stanly Heritage Endowed Scholarship banquet on Thursday, September 26, 2013, on the Albemarle campus. Scholarship recipients and their donors were recognized during an evening of food and fellowship. Sixty-four scholarships were awarded for the year 2013-2014 and nearly 1,300 have been awarded since the inception of the program.

Nadine Bowers, Chair, SCC Board of Trustees, welcomed guests and thanked donors for their support. She reminded guests that The Stanly Heritage Endowed Scholarship program would not be possible without the generosity of donors.

Mary Burt Allen, SCC Foundation Chair, recognized the scholars. Winter Davis, a Respiratory Therapy student, spoke to the crowd for her appreciation of the scholarship that she receives. Dr. H.T. “Toby” Webb and Janet Sistare announced the establishment of a new scholarship and introduced the speakers.

A new Heritage Scholarship was established before the evening festivities came to a close – The Charlie B. and Ruth Carpenter Smith Scholarship. This scholarship was donated by Roger Smith, Sr., and Wade M. Smith in memory of their parents.

SCC President Dr. Brenda Kays delivered closing remarks. Kevin Sanders, who is studying to earn his Associate Degree in General Education and a scholarship recipient, presented invocation. Farra Horton, a Human Services Degree student and a scholarship recipient, delivered the benediction.

The Stanly Heritage Endowed Scholarship program is offered through the SCC Foundation to curriculum students. Applicants must complete the SCC scholarship application and maintain a “C” or higher GPA.

For more information about the Stanly Heritage Endowed Scholarship program, contact SCC Foundation Director Janet Sistare at (704) 991-0189 or

Heritage Students

2013-2014 Stanly Heritage Endowed Scholarship recipients from left to right (front row): Farra Horton, Samantha Lowder, Allison Lowder, Crystal Lowder, Mechelle Pruitt, Susana Hernandez, Mark Cadungog, Bridget McKee, Rachel Galbraith, Alisha Cox, Jessica Whitley, Alexandrea Harwood, Winter Davis, Amber Honeycutt, Shannon Miller, Kaitlyn Whaley, Jessica Rape, and Michele Melton; (second row) April Mabry, Rebecca Laws, Allison Lemonds, Rhonda Etter, Elizabeth Blecher, Sarifah Fuller, Coutney Eudy, Hannah Lilly, Magen Smith, Tristan Alston, Shiesha Powell, Talisa Linker, Michelle Cumming, Lisa Kluttz and Logan Casper; (third row) Carrie Callahan, Melissa Hiscox, Brittany Burleson, Jordyn Edmisten, Sharon Honeycutt, Jennifer Lucas, Barna Cranford, Daniel Lambert, Michael Barnhardt, Kevin Sanders, Lora Clark, Tony Currie, Tyler Bumgarner, Matthew Throneburg and Janice Bentley.

Not pictured: Jaruis Broadway, Juan Caba, Aisha Hunter, Gary Lynch, Anna McKendrick, Colleen Petatan and Rashida Williams.