Home :: College Information :: Marketing/Communications ::

SCC Recognizes PTK Honor Students

PTK 2014(April 30, 2014) Stanly Community College (SCC) recently held its annual induction ceremony for the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society-Alpha Psi Upsilon Chapter. SCC’s chapter was chartered in 1993 to recognize outstanding academic accomplishments and encourage scholarships among two-year college students.

Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than two million members and 1,200 chapters located worldwide. The society awards numerous scholarships and promotes networking among members and opportunities to demonstrate excellence in a variety of formats such as PTK honors programs, leadership conferences and annual conventions.

In order to be invited for membership, students must earn a 3.75 cumulative grade point average (GPA) and must have completed at least 15 semester hours of credit toward an associate degree. Students must also maintain a 3.50 GPA to adhere to eligibility requirements. Only 10 percent or less of the entire student population achieve such high standards.

PTK Advisor Brigette Myers welcomed those present and PTK Chapter President Katrina Sams gave opening remarks. PTK Vice-President Anthony Pass introduced the guest speaker, SCC President Dr. Brenda Kays. The induction ceremony also included PTK Secretary Leah Joyner and PTK Co-Advisor Jeff Parsons.

Membership in Phi Theta Kappa is a highly coveted honor that will enrich the student’s life while attending Stanly Community College and will remain a prestigious part of their professional life as he or she pursues further educational and career goals. In addition, each member will have the honor to wear the Phi Theta Kappa gold stole and tassel during graduation ceremonies. Students will also have the gold seal on their diploma and will receive notation of membership applied to their transcripts.

“I am proud of the accomplishments of all of our students at Stanly Community College, but I am especially proud of the academic scholarship demonstrated by our recent Phi Theta Kappa inductees,” stated Dr. Kays.

“I am proud of these students and their outstanding accomplishments,” stated Ms. Myers. “Membership in Phi Theta Kappa is an earned honor and will enrich their lives while at SCC.”

For more information about Phi Theta Kappa, please contact Brigette Myers at (704) 991-0177.

PTK 2014

Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society inductees pictured left to right: Front row – Xee Cindy Xiong, Samantha Kimberly Linnell, Hannah Lynn Herrin, Katrina Nash Sams, Kristen Naseem Murr and Bridget Leigh Ann McKee.
Row 2 – Shiesha Marie Powell, Heather Simpson Birmingham, Leah Joyner, Juan Isidro Caba and Christal Elizabeth Milton.
Not pictured: Holly Carlton Byrd, Anna Elizabeth Curlee, Wanda Diane Gearhart, Christy Gregory, Daniel Kyle Jones, Christa Stanley Little, Nicole Losada, Avinashkumar Maheshbhai Patel, Alisha I. Shelton, Amber Brittany Sheriff, Jeffrey B. Shew, Sarah Kathryn Smith and Jackie Cranford Troutman.