Home :: College Information :: Marketing/Communications ::

SCC PBL Wins State Awards, State President, State Business Person of Year

PBL SLC 2014(May 7, 2014) The Stanly Community College (SCC) Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) chapter participated in the organization’s State Leadership Conference recently, winning numerous awards, the election for state president, the state’s Business Person of the Year, and the Gold Seal Chapter designation.

Meeting at the University Place Hilton in Charlotte, the conference was the culmination of the 60th Anniversary of North Carolina Phi Beta Lambda and Future Business Leaders of America, the college and secondary levels of the national organization for students interested in developing leadership and business skills.

The SCC chapter celebrated its 40th Anniversary this year and has attended each State Leadership Conference since. Two of the program participants in Charlotte were Ms. Geraldine Michael Smith and Ms. Robbie Fowler McDonald, the state adviser and one of the state officers who conducted the chartering ceremony for the SCC chapter in 1974.

Presiding at the conference was State President Allison Gahrmann from Gaston College, and other state officers, including State Secretary Krista Bedrin from SCC.

At the conference business session, voting delegates elected Charles “Chuck” VanHoose, an Associate of Arts student at SCC, as state president for 2014-15. Other officers elected represent Campbell University and Barton College.

A formal awards banquet was held to announce winners of the PBL competitive events. Members may enter two events, with the First and Second Place winners in each event advancing to national competition at the PBL National Leadership Conference in Nashville this June.

The SCC team of Krista Bedrin, Chuck VanHoose, and Brandon Harkey received First Place in the Business Decision Making event. A written test determined finalist teams, who were given a case study for a presentation to a panel of business leaders.

In individual events, Brandon Harkey placed First in Job Interview, Katrina Sams First in Organizational Behavior and Leadership, and Nathan Greene First in Project Management.

Receiving Second Place awards were Nathan Greene in International Business, and Krista Bedrin in Future Business Executive (an event won by a member of the UNC-Chapel Hill chapter).

Katrina Sams placed Third in Business Communications. Germanic Colson received Sixth Place in Client Service and Chuck VanHoose Fourth in Information Management.

The Stanly chapter received Fourth Place for its Annual Business Report, a 30-page document of its activities for the year.

Krista Bedrin was one of 15 PBL members across the state inducted into “Who’s Who in NCPBL,” and SCC’s Brandon Harkey was named the one member from the state to be inducted into the national “Who’s Who in PBL” for 2014.

Special guests at the conference were Ms. Jean Buckley, the national FBLA-PBL CEO, and Donnie Iorio, the national president from the University of South Carolina. Ms. Buckley presented plaques to chapter advisers celebrating anniversary years, including Dan Hazlett for his 40th year with the SCC chapter and Merlin Amirtharaj for her 20th year.

In addition to the general sessions and competitive events, delegates participated in a special Leadership Development Program series of eight seminars.

Ms. Kathy Almond, a former SCC PBL chapter president who is now President and CEO of the Stanly County Chamber of Commerce, led a session on the role of Chambers of Commerce in business communities.

Ms. Martha Sue Hall, a former SCC chapter president and state officer who is a former member of the Stanly County Board of Commissioners and now a member of the Albemarle City Council, led a session on civic and political involvement and leadership.

Mr. James Lowder, owner of Stanly Cabinet Company, Albemarle, was named the 2014 North Carolina Phi Beta Lambda Business Person of the Year.

In conjunction with the 60th Anniversary celebration, several former state officers returned to serve as judges for the competitive events and 30 of them were in attendance for the Friday evening general session, where they introduced themselves and commented on the value of their membership and involvement in PBL.

From Stanly Community College, the group included Chris McDaniel, 1992 and 1993 parliamentarian and 1993 national vice president; Martha Sue Hall, 1979 state FBLA president and 1982 PBL vice president; Rick Gardner, 1985 state president; Carolyn Rabon Laudati, 1987 state president; Gail Almond Perkins, 1987 parliamentarian; John Anderson, 2010 president; Debbie Swaringen, 1997 state president; Randi East Roberts, 2006 state vice president; Courtney Seidenschmidt, 2013 state secretary; and Brandon Harkey, 2013 state historian.

“The conference was an exciting one for the state organization and certainly an outstanding one for the Stanly students,” Mr. Hazlett commented. “SCC is proud of our event winners and especially Chuck on his election as state president. We are also proud of the prestigious group of alumni who were in attendance as former state officers. They reflect both the quality of education they received and the commitment of SCC to providing opportunities for leadership and on-going support of student organizations.”

Business PersonMr. James Lowder, owner of Stanly Cabinet and recipient of the SCC PBL “Business Person of the Year” award for 2014, received the state designation at the group’s annual conference. With Mr. Lowder are chapter officers Krista Bedrin and Chuck VanHoose.
CelebrateBrandon Harkey, Chuck VanHoose and Krista Bedrin celebrate a First Place win in the state PBL Business Decision Making team event.
Chuck VanHooseSCC’s Chuck VanHoose was elected as state president during the 60th Anniversary State Leadership Conference for NCPBL. Campaign Manager Nathan Greene (left) made the official nominations prior to VanHoose’s campaign speech.
Officer GroupTo celebrate the 60th Anniversary of NCPBL, former state officers were recognized during a general session. Included in the group were SCC alumni Martha Sue Hall, Christopher McDaniel, Randi East Roberts, Gail Almond Perkins, Rick Gardner, Debbie Swaringen, Courtney Seidenschmidt, John Anderson, Brandon Harkey and Carolyn Rabon Laudati.
Brandon HarkeyBrandon Harkey received First Place in the Job Interview event, as well as being named the one member from North Carolina to be inducted into the national “Who’s Who is PBL” for 2014.
Katrina SamsKatrina Sams won First Place in a new PBL event, Organizational Behavior and Leadership.

Krista BedrinKrista Bedrin accepted the SCC chapter’s Gold Seal Chapter award; she also was one of the state officers who presided at conference sessions.
Nathan GreeneNathan Greene shows off First Place in the Project Management event and Second Place in the International Business event. The top two winners in each event advance to national competition this June in Nashville.