2018 Commencement Awards

2018 Commencement Awards

Kenneth Moore

Annie Ruth Kelly Leadership Award
Kenneth Moore | Criminal Justice Technology | 2018

The Annie Ruth Kelley Leadership Award was created in 2001 to honor the service and leadership of the first chairperson of the college board of trustees and the first woman to chair a community college board in this state. Mrs. Kelley served with distinction for 28 years as a college trustee. In keeping with the tenets of Mrs. Kelley’s record of service, this award is presented to the graduating student who has excelled in providing leadership to fellow students, the College and the community.


Dianne H. Burton Community Service Award
Marisol Lopez Soberano | Associate in Arts | 2018

The Dianne H. Burton Community Service Award was created in 2006 to honor the service of the past college registrar. This award is presented to the graduating student that has contributed to the community through service learning.

Edward J. Synder, Jr. Exceptional Scholars Award

The Edward J. Snyder Exceptional Scholars Award is named in honor of the second chair of the College’s board of trustees. He was a member of the state board of community colleges and the first chairperson of the College foundation, a position he held for over three decades. His support of the College provided scholarships and other resources for SCC for nearly four decades. An award was established in 2002, in honor of his services. To qualify, a student must be nominated by a faculty or staff member, have at least a 3.0 grade point average, submit an essay and then complete an interview with a selection committee.


Kayla Cole
Associate in Arts

Cora Harrison

Cora Harrison
Associate Degree in Nursing


William Seth Morton
Biomedical Equipment Technology
Criminal Justice Technology


Shirley Dennis Basic Skills Outstanding Student Award
Megan Reece | Adult High School | 2018

Established in 2012 in memory of Shirley Diane Dennis, this award recognizes an exemplary high school equivalency or adult high school graduate who while overcoming challenges remains committed to education and demonstrates leadership skills among peers. Shirley Diane Dennis obtained her high school equivalency credential and Associates Degree in Human Services from Stanly Community College, and her Bachelor of Science from Pfeiffer University. She also received the Stanly Community College Adjunct Faculty Member of the Year Award in 2011.


The Jerrie Sue Moffitt-Morton Award
Kristie Sims | Cosmetology Technology | 2018

The recipient for the Jerrie Sue Moffitt-Morton Award will personify the spirit of the award's namesake. This recipient will demonstrate an ability to overcome adversity, maintain integrity, and keep clients' needs as their priority. Furthermore, the chosen recipient will exude a charismatic personality, always making others feel at ease and welcome. The recipient will be known for putting others before self while also possessing a fighting spirit when faced with life's negative circumstances. Mrs. Jerrie Sue Moffitt-Morton leaves behind an enormous legacy, and this recipient's qualities will resonate with the aforementioned attributes that set Mrs. Moffitt-Morton apart from others.


Governor Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award - SCC Nominee
Shamira Young | Human Services Technology | Candidate

In 2004, the North Carolina Association of Community College Presidents created the Governor Robert Scott Leadership Award as a way to (1) recognized student leadership on a statewide level while also (2) honoring former Governor Bob Scott. Governor Scott served as the State’s chief executive from 1968-1972 and then was president of our system for 12 years from 1983-1995. Governor Scott passed away in January of 2009, but he was very humbled that the system named a student award in his honor. This is an award designed to highlight outstanding curriculum student leadership and service.


Dr. George E. Eddins Jr. Award of Distinction in Allied Health Education
Lindsey Glosson | Radiography Technology | 2018

The Dr. George E. Eddins Jr. Award of Distinction in Allied Health Education is named in honor of an Albemarle physician whose support of the SCC Foundation have allowed hundreds of students to attend college. This recognition was established in 2003, and to be considered for this award, a graduating Allied Health student must have at least a 3.5 GPA, demonstrated leadership ability and a record of service to the community.

Chris McDaniel

Outstanding Alumni Award
Chris McDaniel | Criminal Justice & Accounting | 1991 & 1993 respectively

Each year one or more Stanly Community College alumni are recognized for their contributions to the College, the community and their profession. Eligibility for this award requires that the student must have participated at the College as either a curriculum (credit-based), continuing education, or basic skills/literacy student. The SCC Executive Leadership Team then selects the award recipient out of the eligible nominations.

Academic Excellence Award - SCC Nominee
Thomas McEachern | Associate in Arts | 2018

One student from each of the 58 North Carolina Community Colleges receive this prestigious award for academic excellence. In order to be eligible for this award, students must be currently enrolled, must have completed at least 12 semester hours in an associate degree program, and must have a cumulative grade point average of no less than 3.25.

The Dallas Herring Achievement Award - SCC Nominee
Mekayla | Associate in Arts | 2018

Created in 2010, this award is given in memory of Dr. Herring’s great work for North Carolina community colleges. The Dallas Herring Achievement Award may be earned by a current student or alumnus of any program at a North Carolina Community College (Curriculum, continuing education of literacy) and recognizes achievement by that student. Each community college is encouraged to submit nominees for this award to the North Carolina Community College System Office.