New SGA Officers Elected at SCC

Every year, new officers are elected to the Student Government Association (SGA) Executive Board at Stanly Community College (SCC). SGA serves as the official student body organization representing the best interest of the students and the College. Additionally, SGA provides opportunities for students to engage in professional development activities and serve as liaisons to the administration of the College. SGA also functions as the coordinating body for all student clubs and organizations.

Serving for the 2018-2019 term are Brittany Brooks, President (New London), Megan Mabry, Vice President (Oakboro), Angelica Meyer, Public Information Officer (Concord), Hannah Dykes, Treasurer (Stanfield), and Heather Phillips, Secretary (Midland). All five officers are currently working toward their Nursing Degrees.

In addition to monthly meetings with SCC's student organization leaders, SGA has sponsored a voter registration and Constitution Day promotion. Up-coming events include FallFest for students and employees, as well as SCC's Second Annual "Halloween on the Hill" for the community from 4:00 p.m. to 6:00 p.m., on October 31.

The SCC SGA is one of 58 within the North Carolina Community College System and curriculum students are eligible to become members. There is no charge to become a member. For more information, please contact SGA Advisors Emily Baldwin or Dan Hazlett at (704) 982-0121.

SGA Officers

Pictured from left to right (seated): Megan Mabry and Angelica Meyer. Standing: Hannah Dykes, Brittany Brooks, and Heather Phillips.