PTK Ceremony Held for Inductees

Stanly Community College (SCC) held its annual induction ceremony for the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) International Honor Society-Alpha Psi Upsilon Chapter on Tuesday, April 5. Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than two million members and 1,200 chapters located worldwide. The society awards numerous scholarships and promotes networking among members and opportunities to demonstrate excellence in a variety of formats such as PTK honors programs, leadership conferences and annual conventions.

SCC’s chapter was chartered in 1993 to recognize outstanding academic accomplishments and encourage scholarships among two-year college students. In order to be invited for membership, students must earn a 3.75 cumulative grade point average (GPA) and must have completed at least 15 semester hours of credit toward an associate degree. Students must also keep a 3.50 GPA to adhere to eligibility requirements. Only 10 percent or less of the entire student population achieve such high standards.

PTK Advisor Tanya Nicks began the ceremony by welcoming family, friends, and guests. PTK Chapter President Kirsten Thompson gave opening remarks and PTK Vice-President Desiree Taylor introduced the guest speaker, SCC Interim President Robin McCree. The induction ceremony also included PTK Secretary Tia Patterson, PTK Treasurer Danni (D.J.) Poplin, and PTK Advisor Tamara Maness.

Membership in Phi Theta Kappa is a highly coveted honor that will enrich the student’s life while attending Stanly Community College and will remain a prestigious part of his or her professional life as he or she pursues further educational and career goals. In addition, each member will have the honor to wear the Phi Theta Kappa gold stole and tassel during graduation ceremonies. Students will also have the gold seal on their diploma and will receive notation of membership applied to their transcripts.

For more information about Phi Theta Kappa, please contact Tanya Nicks at (704) 991-0290 or Tamara Maness at (704) 991-0286.

2016 PTK Inductees

2016 PTK Inductees include: (L-R) Caleb Herrin, Jaclyn Stiller, Andrea Corson, Lynsey Furr, Ashley Martinez, Kirsten Thompson-PTK President, Tia Patterson-PTK Secretary, Danni (D.J.) Poplin-PTK Treasurer, Desiree Taylor-PTK Vice-President, Amanda Gorgas, Katelyn Blythe, Claudia Carriker, Angela Jefferson, and Blake Brewer. Not pictured: Melissa Basinger, Christopher Hagler, Kelley Huff, Timothy Little II, Michael Pattee, Grecia Ramirez, Erika Smith, Joseph Wagoner, Stephen Whitesel, Chalissa Whitley, Hunter Williams, and Matthew Wilson.