SCC Foundation Holds 14th Annual Stanly Classic

The Stanly Community College Foundation recently hosted the 14th Annual Stanly Classic Golf Tournament at the Tillery Tradition Country Club, located in Mt. Gilead, NC. The Stanly Classic is the signature event of the SCC Foundation and provides support to the College and SCC students.

Breezy conditions were a challenge but did not interrupt the excitement and fun of twenty-four teams competing for top prizes and giveaways. Premiere Fibers, Inc., took first place while First Citizens Bank and Omega Construction came in second and third place, respectively.

Thanks to the support of the tournament sponsors and team participants, the SCC Foundation raised approximately $52,000 for Stanly Community College. Leading sponsors for the event included Platinum Sponsors – Bear Insurance Service and Uwharrie Bank; Gold Sponsors - Michelin US11 and ScanOnline; Golf Sponsor – J. T. Russell & Sons, Inc.; Lunch Sponsors - South Central Oil and B.R.S., Inc.; Hole-in-one Sponsor – Friendly Chevrolet. Along with the leading sponsors, the tournament was also supported with six beverage cart sponsorships and thirty hole sponsors.

The 2017 Golf Tournament Committee Members included; Lee Pickler, Paul Childress, John Barringer, Banks Garrison, Ron Swanner and Chris Bennett.

"On behalf of Stanly Community College and the SCC Foundation, I would like to sincerely thank the business partners and individuals that made the 14th Annual Stanly Classic a success. We are appreciative to our many sponsors, the golf committee, volunteers, and in-kind partners who supported the Stanly Classic," noted Christy Bogle, Executive Director of the Foundation.

First Place

First place team – Premiere Fibers, Inc. (left to right): Eddie Hardy, Nic Hardy, John Amirtharaj (Sponsor), Randy Cheek, and Graham Biggs.

Second Place

Second place team – First Citizens (left to right): Damon Rhodes, Phillip Speight, Walter Pegram, and Brett Speight.

Third Place

Third place team – Omega Construction (left to right): Daniel Barnes, Chad Motsinger, Tyler Cook and Dustin Hunter.