SCC Holds National Society of Leadership & Success Induction

Recently, Stanly Community College (SCC) held its fifth annual induction ceremony for the National Society of Leadership and Success (NSLS). SCC’s Chapter of Sigma Alpha Pi was chartered in 2011 to recognize students who obtained a cumulative GPA of 3.0.

The mission of the NSLS is to build leaders who make a better world, encouraging community action volunteerism, personal growth, and strong leadership. The NSLS is an organization that helps people discover and achieve their goals, offering life-changing lectures from the nation’s leading presenters and a community where like-minded success oriented individuals come together and help one another succeed.

The NSLS also serves as a powerful force of good in the greater community by encouraging and organizing action to better the world and is founded upon the core beliefs that one can achieve one's dreams with the proper support and dedicated action, and that we accomplish more together than we would achieve alone.

To be invited for membership, students must earn a 3.0 cumulative grade point average (GPA), attend a Leadership Training Day, attend 3 Speaker Broadcasts, and attend 3 Success Networking Team meetings. Students can also earn the Engaged Leader Award by completing the above requirements, an additional 3 Speaker Broadcasts, an additional 3 Success Networking Team Meetings, and a community service project.

NSLS Advisor Jennifer Hatley welcomed those present. The Key Note Speaker was SCC’s College President, Dr. Brenda Kays, who gave a motivating and encouraging speech.

For more information about the National Society of Leadership and Success, please contact SCC’s Chapter Advisor, Jennifer Hatley at (704) 991-0193.

NSLS Inductees

NSLS inductees pictured left to right, front row: Alanna Wall, Amanda Swan, Amanda Plyler, Jamie Dabbs, Cynthia Heglar, Michele Miller, Elsy Rubio, Tonia Thorpe, Lauren Cranford, Raya Henry, Cheyann Kimrey, Bryon Holbrooks, Tonia King, Anna Starnes, Madison Eury, Briana Thompson, Nicolette Hurley, Patricia Adams, Bridget McKee and Hannah Tucker.

Back row: Tyler Swan, Brianna Patterson, Rashaad Baldwin, Anthony Hinson, Sarah Flanagan, Nicole Turner, Megan Hunsucker, Donna Reed, Matthew Slover, Karly Byerly, Brittany Furr, Brittney Hopkins, Christopher Hawley, Destiny Wilson, Nathan Burleson, Cole Mullis and Savannah Blalock.