SCC Scholars Recognized

Stanly Community College (SCC) recently recognized the 2015-2016 scholarship recipients during a special program held at the Stanly County Agri-Civic Center. The Scholar Recognition night is a wonderful event that honors our scholarship recipients. Students have a chance to say “thank you” and be recognized while donors have a chance to see the impact on the lives their investment makes.

Honored speakers were SCC President Dr. Brenda Kays, ROSE Chairperson Beth Swanner, SCC scholar Jose Baltazar and SCC graduate April Mabry. Also present was Lisa B. Burris who is a member of the SCC Foundation Board and the SCC Board of Trustees.

Dr. Kays expressed appreciation for the commitment made by Heritage donors and the continued yearly commitment by the Annual donors. Dr. Kays provided an overview of the Heritage and Annual scholarships and congratulated the scholars on their achievements.

Webb Scholarship recipient Jose Baltazar expressed gratitude for his scholarship and indicated that he is the first in his family to go to college. Thanks to the scholarship, he will be graduating in May with an Associate in Arts degree and plans to move forward to a four year institution.

SCC graduate Mrs. April Mabry offered comments regarding the Rose Scholarship program in which she was a recipient. April graduated in May 2015 with her Early Childhood Associate in Applied Science degree. Since graduation, she has received a promotion in her current job at a local daycare. April shared that the Rose scholarship came at the perfect moment when she thought she had to quit school because of the financial burden it was putting on her family.

ROSE Chairperson Beth Swanner gave remarks on behalf of the Crutchfield Family Foundation. This program provides scholarships for female students and they are paired with a mentor for support during their educational journey.

Ms. Swanner also shared about the Dr. H. T. “Toby” Webb Scholar program that offers scholarships to male students. Dr. Webb has had a tremendous impact on so many lives and continues to coach and encourage these scholars through the Webb Scholar program.

Rose, Webb, Heritage and Annual recipients were recognized with certificates of achievement and received congratulations from Dr. Kays and honored guest Lisa Burris. The SCC scholarship programs are offered through the SCC Foundation to curriculum and occupational extension students.

Following the recognition ceremony, everyone was invited to enjoy hot chocolate and cookies in the lobby.

Samantha Lowder and Lisa Burris

Stanly Funeral Home – SCC Scholarship Recipient Samantha Lowder and SCC Foundation Board Member Lisa Burris.

Steve Brown, Breana Tredway, Samuel Benfield, and Kelly Caudle

State Employees Credit Union – NC SECU Representative Steve Brown, Breana Tredway & Samuel Benfield (SCC Scholarship Recipients) and NC SECU Advisory Board Member Kelly Caudle.

Kayla Murray and Lisa Burris

West Stanly Rotary Club – SCC Scholarship Recipient Kayla Murray and SCC Foundation Board Member Lisa Burris.

Wesley King and Jennifer Shelton

Officer Jeff Shelton Memorial – SCC Scholarship Recipient Wesley King and Jennifer Shelton, Officer Jeff Shelton Memorial Representative.

Lisa Burris and Courtney Earnhardt

Seven Oaks Doors – SCC Foundation Board Member Lisa Burris and SCC Scholarship Recipient Courtney Earnhardt.

Allison Simpson and John Lynden

School of Business & Technology Faculty – SCC Scholarship Recipient Allison Simpson and School of Business & Technology Faculty representative John Lynden.

Lisa Burris and Angel Scaccianoce

First Bank – SCC Foundation Board Member Lisa Burris and SCC Scholarship Recipient Angel Scaccianoce.

Lisa Burris and Tara Gardin

Greg Harris – SCC Foundation Board Member Lisa Burris and SCC Scholarship Recipient Tara Gardin.

Lisa Burris and Zachary Zaleski

James Tucker Memorial – SCC Foundation Board Member Lisa Burris and SCC Scholarship Recipient Zachary Zaleski.

Lisa Burris and Hunter Tucker

International Association of Administrative Professionals of NC – SCC Foundation Board Member Lisa Burris and SCC Scholarship Recipient Hunter Tucker.

Lisa Burris and Greyson Lunsford

Alcoa – SCC Scholarship Recipient Jordan Christy, SCC Foundation Board Member Lisa Burris, and SCC Scholarship Recipient Greyson Lunsford.

Eddie Wall, Kelley Smith, and Mandi Rogers

Uwharrie Bank – Uwharrie Bank Representative Eddie Wall, SCC Scholarship Recipient Kelley Smith, and Uwharrie Bank Representative Mandi Rogers.

Lisa Burris and Chassity Robinson

Bear Insurance – SCC Foundation Board Member Lisa Burris and SCC Scholarship Recipient Chassity Robinson.

Thomas Leslie, Ronnie Faggart, Alia'a Pane-Hatley, Teina Chambers, and Michele Miller

Charles Ray Miller Memorial – Front row: SCC Scholarship Recipient Teina Chambers (center), Charles Ray Miller Memorial Representatives Alia’a Pane-Hatley (left) and Michele Miller (right). Back row: Men’s Auxiliary VFW Post 2908 Representatives Thomas Leslie (left) and Ronnie Faggart (right).

Lisa Burris and Vander Whitted

Dr. Tom Kelley – SCC Foundation Board Member Lisa Burris and SCC Scholarship Recipient Vander Whitted.

Lisa Burris and Glenn Haid

First Bank – SCC Foundation Board Member Lisa Burris and SCC Scholarship Recipient Glenn Haid.

Lisa Hinson, Heather Birmingham, Tiffany Shaw, Shannon Miller, and Janice Bentley

ROSE Scholarship Recipients: Front row (left to right), Tiffany Shaw, Shannon Miller, and Janice Bentley. Back row: Lisa Hinson and Heather Birmingham.

Todd Helms, Joshua Cline, and Malachi Tucker

Webb Scholarship Recipients: Left to right – Todd Helms, Joshua Cline and Malachi Tucker.

Heritage Scholarship Recipients

Heritage Scholarship Recipients: First row (left to right) – Jennifer Gassler, Jennifer Belsinger, Tammy Moon-Smith, Cindy Thao, Jessica Batten, Candice Gelvin, Summer Surratt, Sasha Papa and Courtney Henderson. Second row: Carl McLamb, Nicole Rossetti, Brayan Corona, Courtney Tucker, Michelle Springer, Brittany Auxford, Kristy Smith, and Joshua Jenkins. Third row: Shani Davis, Jennifer Lucas, Elizabeth Stallings, Heather Love, Roger Davis, and Martin Keller.