SCC Scholars Recognized

Stanly Community College (SCC) recently recognized its 2016-2017 scholarship recipients during a special program held at the Stanly County
Agri-Civic Center. "The Scholar Recognition night is a wonderful event that honors our scholarship recipients and their donors," commented Christy Bogle, SCC Foundation Director. "Students have a chance to express appreciation and be recognized while donors have a chance to see the impact on the lives their investment makes."

Honored speakers included SCC Executive Vice President Robin McCree, Ms. Christy Bogle, Rose Chairperson Beth Swanner, Financial Aid Office representatives Petra Fields and Emily Leslie, and two scholarship recipients.

Scholarship recipient Jeffery Miller, an Associate Degree Nursing student, expressed gratitude for his scholarship and appreciation for his family's support during his educational journey.

SCC graduate Brenda Watson offered comments regarding the Rose Scholarship program. Brenda graduated in 2007 with an Early Childhood Associate degree in Special Education. She stated the scholarship was exactly what she needed at that time in her life and that she is especially grateful for the friendship of her Rose mentor, Lydia Morgan.

All scholarship recipients were recognized with certificates of achievement and received congratulations from Ms. McCree and other College faculty and staff. Ms. Bogle represented scholarship donors not in attendance.

21st Century Scholars

21st Century Scholars – Abelardo Espinoza, Jake Thompson, Dr. Davis Fort (Scholarship Donor), Shana Helms and Cheyenne Lambert.


Alcoa – Mrs. Christy Bogle and Michael Furr

Bear Insurance

Bear Insurance – Avianna Reed and Mrs. Brinn Knotts (Scholarship Donor)

First Bank

First Bank – Kayla Murray, Ms. Ellen Hatley (Scholarship Donor) and Lauren Nakhle

Heritage Scholarship

Heritage Scholarship Recipients: (Left to right) First row: Heather Hume, Cindy Alley, Jennifer Belsinger, Brittany Strange, Tyler McClennan Roz, Morgan Foley, Meria Calloway and Bailey Williams. Second row: Jennifer Gassler, Dana Huntley, Cindy Rinehart, Theresa Curry, Lore Xiong, Amber McLaughlin, Tamera Freeman and Felicia Allen. Third row: Frances Durr, Paige Wilhelm, Deanna Rorie, Greg Rosenkranz, Nicolle Rossetti, Erika Sanchez, Anna Burleson and Jessica Overcash.

Officer Jeff Shelton Memorial

Officer Jeff Shelton Memorial – Mrs. Christy Bogle and Suzanne Whealan


ROSE Scholarship Recipients: Front row: Casie Brown, Veronica Alvarez and Kattie Pearson. Back row - ROSE Mentors: Beth Laughridge, Barbara Whitley, Beth Swanner (ROSE Chairperson) and Wendy Holbrook. Photo on right: Mrs. Christy Bogle and Vicky Ohara.

Seven Oaks

Seven Oaks Doors – Mrs. Christy Bogle and Dony Santos

SCC Presidential

SCC Presidential – Austin Mills, Sarah Fox, Lacey Whitley and Dorian Turner

Stanly County Managers

Stanly County Managers – Kayla Barnhardt, Kathy Almond (Scholarship Donor) and Ellie Burton

Stanly Funeral Home

Stanly Funeral Home – Teina Chambers, Mrs. Christy Bogle and Ashton Baucom

State Employees Credit Union

State Employees Credit Union – Samuel Benfield, Jeffrey Miller, Andi Rhykerd and Steve Brown (Scholarship Donor)

Uwharrie Bank

Uwharrie Bank – Martha Hughes (Scholarship Donor) and William McDermott


Webb Scholarship Recipients – Michael Finney, Wesley King, Derrick Almond and William Carriker

Wells Fargo Veteran Scholarship

Wells Fargo Veteran Scholarship – John Nelson, Jennifer Powell, Joshua Laster and William Yeskie

West Stanly Rotary Club

West Stanly Rotary Club – Noah Oakley, Kobe Christy, Megan Fox, Jenna Joyner and Mr. Fran Albritton (Scholarship Donor)

Yadkin Valley Homebuilders

Yadkin Valley Homebuilders – David Wright and Mr. Ashley Carter (Scholarship Donor)