Student Leadership Awards at SCC

Stanly Community College (SCC) students and advisors were recently honored at a luncheon recognizing campus organization leaders. Honorees were selected from the various clubs and student organizations on campus.

Phi Beta Lambda Advisor Dan Hazlett served as the emcee for the ceremony and SCC President Dr. Brenda Kays gave welcoming remarks.

Student Government Association (SGA) Advisor Katie Furr recognized several students who had been nominated for state awards and one student who had received state and national awards during the academic year. SGA Co-Advisor Marcus Pryor acknowledged the faculty advisors of each club and thanked them for their commitment.

The SGA is the umbrella organization for all campus student groups, and the awards luncheon also includes the recognition of the SGA officers for the current year. Student body leaders for the current year are Taylor Carter -President; Madison Eury – Vice-President; Hannah Tucker- Secretary; Chelsea Barber - Treasurer; and Megan Chapman, Public Information Officer.

Associate Vice President of Student Success Myra Furr and Katie Furr presented awards to the students selected by their advisors for their involvement in clubs and the community. Honorees include Lacey Thompson - Associate Degree Nursing Club; Erica Douglas – Biomedical Equipment Technology Club; Rashaad Baldwin – Criminal Justice Club; Mozella “Denise” Lyerly – Early Childhood Club; Traci Smith - Human Services Club; McKenzie Isenhour- Medical Assisting Club; Darren Cook and Courtney Dotson – Medical Laboratory Technology Club; Chuck VanHoose – Phi Beta Lambda; and Jamie Dabbs – Spectrum Club.

Leadership Awardees

SCC Leadership Awards (left to right) Seated: Hannah Tucker, Megan Chapman and Chelsea Barber. First row: McKenzie Isenhour, Taylor Carter, Madison Eury, and Courtney Dotson. Back row: Traci Smith, Jamie Dabbs, Rashaad Baldwin, Mozella “Denise” Lyerly, Lacey Thompson, Erica Douglas and Darren Cook.