Students Complete NC Fire Investigation Training

Students recently completed the North Carolina Fire Investigation Technician training program offered by the Office of the State Fire Marshal (OSFM) through Stanly Community College (SCC). This certificate program follows the National Fire Protection Association 1033, Standard for Professional Qualifications for Fire Investigator and establishes the minimum job performance requirements for fire investigators. This program is 80 hours in length and provides the student with lecture and a series of hands-on practical exercises. College instructors work closely with the Albemarle Fire Department with two live fires, the Stanly County Fire Marshal’s Office, and Collin’s Towing (Albemarle) for vehicle burns.

SCC has the advantage of being near the center of the state and since the course is offered on the North Carolina Air Guard Base in Badin, students and instructors may stay overnight on base with no housing charge. All the students are employed as Fire Investigators with Law Enforcement, the NC Forest Service, Fire Departments, Emergency Management, and Fire Marshal Offices.

For more information about the Fire and Rescue program at SCC, contact Lewis Edwards, Program Head, at (704) 991-0334 or, or visit the College’s website at

Wayne Delancey was the OSFM and lead instructor during the training. The following students completed the North Carolina Fire Investigation Technician training program: Danny Barham (Stanly Co. FMO), Andrew Bridges (Mecklenburg Co. FMO), Robert Burleyson (Rowan Co. FMO), Adam Carter (Randolph Co. Sheriff's Dept.), Rodney Diggs (Anson Co. FMO), Chadly Drye (Wadesboro PD), Joshua Levi Duncan (Gastonia FD), Evan Faulkner (Stanly Co. FMO), Matt Gordon (NC Forest Service), David Hanna (Wadesboro FD), John Helms (Union Co. FMO), Andrew Hiscox (Gastonia FMO), Frankie Kelly (Asheboro FD), Josh Martin (Anson Co. Sheriff's Dept.), Scott Martin (Wadesboro FD), Tim McNeil (Davidson Co. FMO), Brian Nance (Anson Co. FMO), Darrel Nichols (Rowan Co. FMO), Marc Oddo (Charlotte FD), Greg Peeler (Chapel Hill FD), Greg Riggs (NC Forestry), David Sells (Rowan Co. FMO), Michael Sexton (Davidson Co. FMO), Brian Simpson (Stanly Co. EM), Justin Sink (Davidson Co. FM), David Spencer (Anson Co. Sheriff's Dept.), Kevin Starnes (Waxhaw FMO), William Steagall (Anson Co. FMO), Clay Thornburg (Gastonia FMO), Jeffrey Tracey (Mecklenburg Co. FMO), Robert Wilhoit (Stanly Co. FMO), Blake Wilkey (Gastonia FMO), Cooper Wilson (Bakers Volunteer FD), and Geoff Woolard (Mooresville Fire/Rescue).