Students Recognized During Leadership Awards Luncheon

Stanly Community College (SCC) students and advisors were recently honored at a luncheon recognizing campus organization leaders. Honorees were selected from the various clubs and student organizations on campus that are involved in blood drives, coat drives, canned food drives, as well as filling hundreds of Christmas stockings for children in need.

Phi Beta Lambda Advisor Dan Hazlett served as the emcee for the ceremony and Associate Vice President of Student Success/Dean of Students Dr. Myra Furr gave welcoming remarks and presented awards to the students selected by their advisors for their involvement in clubs and community service. Honorees include: Ashlee Cox—Associate Degree Nursing Club, Cory Williams—Biomedical Equipment Club, Michelle Lee—Cosmetology Club, Katelyn Blythe—Criminal Justice Club, Kassie Hastings—Early Childhood Club, Kohl Whitlow—Electronics Club and Student Government Association (SGA) President, Grecia Ramirez—Human Services Club, Casie Hamilton—Medical Assisting Club, Dony Santos—Multi-Cultural Club, Courtney Earnhardt—Phi Beta Lambda (PBL), Ashlyn Sweet—Respiratory Club, Ryan Cornett—Spectrum Club, and Brayan Corona—University Transfer Club.

The Medical Assisting Club received the Student Government Association (SGA) Service Award. This award goes to the club that is greatly involved in community service and giving back to the College.

SGA Advisor Katie Furr recognized students who had been nominated for state awards and national awards during the academic year. Special recognitions were given to: Dony Santos, who was selected to represent SCC for the Student Leadership Development program for the 2016-2017 year, scheduled to begin this summer. In addition, Mr. Santos was nominated for the Governor Robert W. Scott Student Leadership Award. This award recognizes student leadership on a statewide level while also honoring the fourth System President and North Carolina Community College supporter, Governor Scott.

Katlyn Blythe was selected as SCC's nominee for the Academic Excellence Award. Her Club Advisor Cheryn Rowell, stated, "I'm proud of Katelyn and the leader she has grown to be over the last two years."

Matthew Slover was nominated for the Dallas Herring Achievement Award. This award was established by the North Carolina Community College System to honor the late Dr. Dallas Herring whose philosophy of "taking people where they are and carrying them as far as they can go." Mr. Slover's Instructor, Claudia Gresham, stated, "He is one of those special students who powerfully represents not only SCC, but the NC Community College System as a whole."

Katrina Sams, Small Business Center/Economic Development Division Assistant, and serving as PBL State Historian, was selected for the National "Who's Who in PBL" for 2015-2016.

Club advisors were recognized by Jennifer Hatley, Associate Dean of Academic Support Services. Honorees include: Katie Furr—Student Government Association, Amber Hatley—Associate Degree Nursing Club, Sonny Richards—Biomedical Equipment Club, Gena Trogdon—Cosmetology Club, Cheryn Rowell—Criminal Justice Club, Christy Hopkins—Early Childhood Club, Gary Hatley—Electronics Club, Adam Carriker—Simulation & Game Design Club, Kelly Deal and Kara Finch—Human Services Club, Starra Robinson—Medical Assisting Club, Melissa Jackson—Medical Laboratory Club, Patricia Horner—Multicultural Club, Kim Lewis—Pharmacy Technician Club, Dan Hazlett, Merlin Amirtharaj and Tammi McIlwaine—Phi Beta Lambda, Tanya Nicks and Tamara Maness—Phi Theta Kappa, Tiffany Barbee—Radiography Club, Tina Harper—Respiratory Therapy Club, Lorri Barrier and Kim Miller—Spectrum Club, and Caroline Sawyer—University Transfer Club.

The SGA Executive Board members were also recognized and include: Kohl Whitlow—President, Chelsea Barber—Vice President, Kimberly Ogle—Secretary, and Caitlin Pyrek—Treasurer.

Student Leaders

Student leaders pictured from left to right: Row 1: Katelyn Blythe, Chelsea Barber, Michelle Lee and Kimberly Ogle. Row 2: Casie Hamilton, Brayan Corona and Grecia Ramirez. Row 3: Dony Santos, Courtney Earnhardt and Kohl Whitlow.

Not pictured: Caitlyn Pyrek, Ashlee Cox, Cory Williams, Kassie Hastings, Ashlyn Sweet and Ryan Cornett.