Alumni Awards

Alumni Awards

The Outstanding Alumni Award (OAA) honors and recognizes those alumni who have achieved professional accomplishments in their chosen career and who have made significant contributions to their community and to the lives of others. Recipients of this prestigious award represent the ideal of caring, successful, and committed person to whom the Stanly Community College community can look to as an example.

Nominations for the Outstanding Alumni Award are accepted every spring from the faculty and staff of Stanly Community College.

Lee Pickler | 2019 Lee Pickler  Chris McDaniel | 2018 Chris McDaniel  Nadine Bowers | 2017 Nadine Bowers 

Lee Pickler graduated from SCC in 1987 with a Business Data Processing Degree and as an honor student. Lee was a Phi Beta Lambda (PBL) member and is currently a PBL Delegate to the State Leadership Conference and Competitive Events. After employment in other local businesses, Lee opened his own successful business, ScanOnline, located in Locust. He has continued his support of both SCC and PBL. He has been a member and is the current chair of the SCC Foundation Board of Directors

Chris McDaniel graduated from both the Criminal Justice and Accounting programs at SCC. He was president of the College’s chapter of Phi Beta Lambda, served three years as a state PBL Officer, and in 1992 was elected as PBL National Vice President. He received a Bachelor of Science in Criminal Justice, Summa Cum Laude, from Pfeiffer University. Captain McDaniel worked with the Mecklenburg County Sherriff’s Office for 20 years before returning to Stanly County to work with the Stanfield Police Department. He has continued his involvement with Phi Beta Lambda by serving as president of the Alumni/Professional Division, leading workshops at state conferences, and serving as a judge for competitive events.

Nadine Bowers, past Chair of the Stanly Community College Board of Trustees, Board of Directors for SCC Foundation, Board of Directors for the CMC-Stanly Foundation, Board of Directors for Uwharrie Bank, and the North Carolina Association of Community College Trustee Executive Board, was the recipient of the 2017 Outstanding Alumni Award.

Dennis Souther | 2016 Dennis Souther  Kelly Williams | 2015 Kelly Williams  Danny Bowen | 2014 Danny Bowen 

The 2016 Outstanding Alumni Award went to Dennis Souther.

Mr. Souther began teaching at SCC in 1996 as an adjunct and was hired as a full-time Criminal Justice instructor in 1999.

In 2001, Mr. Souther was instrumental in developing the first Criminal Justice Online program in the North Carolina Community College System.

Today, Mr. Souther serves as an Associate Professor at Lindsey Wilson College of Kentucky in their Criminal Justice Online program. He also continues to teach online Political Science courses for SCC.

Ms. Kelly Williams, an SCC Alumna, received the 2015 Outstanding Alumni Award. Each year, one or more Stanly Community College alumni are recognized for their contributions to the College, the community and their profession.

Ms. Williams is a 2012 graduate of the Carolina Auction Academy and is now a licensed auctioneer and an active member of the Auctioneers Association of NC.

She earned her Bachelor of Arts in Political Science at North Carolina State University.

She is currently the Social Media Manager and Lead Auctioneer for Eastway Wrecker & Auction Services in Charlotte. Ms. Williams also owns her own online business called Dainty Dots Online Gift Boutiques found at, which specializes in handmade crafts, custom embroidery and vinyl.

Danny Bowen received the 2014 Outstanding Alumni award.

Mr. Bowen earned his Criminal Justice Technology degree from Stanly Community College.

Each year one or more Stanly Community College alumni are recognized for their contributions to the College, the community and their profession. Former students are nominated by the college community and the annual recipients are announced at spring graduation.

Phillip Speight | 2013 Phillip Speight  Dr. Tammy Crump | 2012 Dr. Tammy Crump 

Phillip Speight received the 2013 Outstanding Alumni Award.

Dr. Tammy Crump, SCC’s Dean of Allied Health & Public Services, received the 2012 Outstanding Alumni Award.