Tuition - Curriculum Students
Tuition and other charges are set by the North Carolina General Assembly, the North Carolina State Board of Community Colleges, and Stanly Community College’s Board of Trustees and are subject to change. While it is the Board’s policy to keep all charges as low as possible, nonresident students are required under North Carolina law to pay a higher tuition rate than residents. The student is responsible for complying with regulations concerning declaration of residency.
For tuition purposes, full-time students are those students taking 16 or more credit hours during each semester.
There is no additional tuition charge for those hours beyond 16. Part-time students (carrying fewer than 16 credit hours for the specific term) are charged by the credit hour. The following tuition is payable each term:
Tuition charges and fees are subject to change without prior notice to students. The College will accept cash, personal checks, and credit cards (MasterCard, Visa, American Express, and Discover) for payment of tuition and fees.
Residence Classification for Tuition Purposes
Under North Carolina law, a person may qualify as a resident for tuition purposes in North Carolina, thereby being eligible for a tuition rate lower than that for nonresidents. The controlling North Carolina statute (G.S. 116-143.1) requires that “To qualify as a resident for tuition purposes, a person must have established legal residence (domicile) in North Carolina and maintained that legal residence for at least twelve (12) months immediately prior to his or her enrollment in a state maintained institution of higher education.” Ownership of property in or payment of taxes to the state of North Carolina does not automatically qualify one for the in-state tuition rate. Failure to provide requested information for residency classification can result in the student’s being classified as a nonresident for tuition purposes and disciplinary action. A student who believes that he or she has been erroneously classified shall be permitted to appeal the case in accordance with the procedure outlined by the State Residence Committee. Regulations concerning the classification of students by residence for purposes of applicable tuition differentials are set forth in detail in A Manual to Assist the Public Higher Education Institutions of North Carolina in the Matter of Student Residence Classification, which is available for student inspection in the Student Development Office. Questions related to residency classification should be directed to the Dean of Students.
|Tuition & Fees Effective Spring 2018|
|In-State Tuition and Fee Chart|
|16 OR MORE||1216.00||35.00||30.00||48.00||6.00||1.25||1336.25|
|Out-of-State Tuition and Fee Chart|
|16 OR MORE||4288.00||35.00||30.00||48.00||6.00||1.25||4408.25|
|*$17.50 STUDENT FEE WILL BE CHARGED DURING SUMMER SESSION|
|**CAPS FEE WILL BE $10.00 DURING SUMMER SESSION|
|**CAPS FEE WILL BE WAIVED IF ALL CLASSES ARE ONLINE|
|****STSFE - Student Success Fee|
|LIABILITY INSURANCE: $8.00 per semester, $16.00 max per year|
|(applies to certain programs / classes)|
|**Other Programs/Courses may be subject to additional Fees|
|**Please be aware the Pplan Fee will be 30.00 starting with Fall Term 2018|