NC Escort Vehicle Operators Certification
This course is designed to meet the training requirements set by the NC Department of Transportation to certify Oversize-Overweight load escort vehicle drivers. Course components consist of defensive driving, escort driver requirements, skills training, and an exam.
Escort car services benefit all parties involved in the transportation of over-dimensional loads: the manufacturers themselves, the trucking companies transporting the load, the general motoring public, and all other drivers and pedestrians on our highways. This is accomplished by, among other ways:
- Increasing overall safety of the traveling public;
- Increasing the safety of the people involved in the movement of the over dimensional load.
- Preventing damage to the highway system;
- Preventing damage to the load being transported;
- Preventing or minimizing delays to the normal traffic flow;
- Reducing accident/loss rates thereby holding down insurance costs;
- Encouraging uniform escort operations.
- Initial License / Renewal License: 8.0 hours / 4.0 hours
CEU’s: Initial .8 / Renewal .4
Pre-Requisites: Initial-None / Renewal-must have current EVO License
Textbook(s) Required: None
Supplies or Other Requirements: Must bring a valid current Drivers License to class. Will also need to provide to the NC DOT your certified driving record for Initial License only / not renewal.
Grading: NC Vehicle Escort Operators Certification; A student’s level of success will be determined by the results of the NC Vehicle Escort Operators Certification Exam administered at the end of the class with a score of at least 75 percent (75%) correct.
Attendance: Students must attend 100% of total course hours.
The North Carolina Department of Transportation (NCDOT) administers a program to certify Oversize-Overweight load escort vehicle drivers as required by G.S. 20- 119, and detailed in 19A NCAC 02D.0644. The program includes instruction in safe and effective escort skills, examination that documents course comprehension, and a system of recognizing drivers certified by this or another state. General requirements are that an escort driver must be:
- Certified by another state’s approved program, or
- A North Carolina law enforcement officer, or
- A person who meets one of the following requirements:
- Is at least 21 years of age, or
- Is at least 18 years of age with a Class A commercial driver’s license.
- Possesses a valid driver’s license without restrictions other than for use of corrective lens and has a driving history without conviction of driving while impaired or reckless driving in the previous 12 months;
- Has successfully completed an NCDOT oversize-overweight escort vehicle operator course with certification exam score of at least 75 percent (75%) correct and has received consequent certification by the Department.