Historical Photo from SCC

In July 1971, State Senator Frank. H. Patterson and House Representative Richard Lane Brown, III, guided legislation through the North Carolina General Assembly to create Stanly Technical Institute. Now, more than 50 years later, Stanly Community College (SCC) sits on a beautiful multi-acre campus that includes impressive, state-of-the art facilities. In 2003, SCC expanded its campus with the construction of the Crutchfield Education Center, a 33,000 square-foot facility home to Allied Health programs and the highly-recognized Carolina Auction Academy.

When SCC first opened its doors, Dr. Charles H. Byrd was president. During his 18-year tenure, SCC offered 24 technical, six vocational, two certificates and one general education program. During this time, the college also began its first full-time evening program designed to help working students continue their education.



Board of Trustees appointed on September 27th; Annie Ruth Kelley elected as chair, becoming the first woman to chair a North Carolina community college board.

Officially opened on December 1st when Stanly Adult Education Center became Stanly Technical Institute.


Fall classes begin in eight degree areas with eight full-time faculty.


Student Government Association (SGA) organized in February.

50 acres purchased in the spring for new Albemarle campus.


Official groundbreaking for the Albemarle campus along College Drive held in September.

Phi Beta Lamda chapter chartered in November as the first student organization.

First formal graduation ceremony, honoring 55 graduates held in December.


Classes held on College Drive campus beginning in November.


College Foundation was established, with E.J. Snyder, Jr. as Board of Directors Chair.


Institution's name changed from Stanly Technical Institute to Stanly Technical College in June.


1981  Kelley Building opened.
1986  First Associate Degree Nursing class.
1987 Eddins Building opened.
1989 Dr. Jan Crawford became President.


1990 Stanly Technical College became Stanly Community College.
1996  Dr. Michael Taylor became President in July.
1997  Snyder Building opened in March.
1999 Whitley Technology Building opened in May.
1999  First online courses offered in the fall.


2003 Crutchfield Education Center in Locust opened in September.
2006 Stanly Early College opened with 46 ninth graders.


2011 Brenda Kays began as President in August.
2016  Dr. John Enamait named as fifth college president in August.
2018 Morton-Moffitt Cosmetology Center opens.

Lane Brown Headshot

In May 2022 Richard Lane Brown, III, passed away. It was his vision, and that of Frank Patterson, who turned the dream of Stanly Community College into a reality. In his last remarks about SCC he said:


“SCC has turned into one of the finest institutions in the North Carolina Community College System. Fifty years from now, at the centennial of Stanly Community College, another generation will have taken the reins and there will be a different board of trustees, but the mission for this College will remain unchanged from its original mandate. With continued state and local support, I foresee another half-century of measured steady program.”